Scholarship Schools

2017/2018 Australia Scholarship Award

2017/2018 Australia Scholarship Award

Australian Government
For Bachelors/Masters/PhD Degrees

Scholarship Deadline: 30th Of Apr 2017 (annual)
Place Of Study: Australia
Course starts 2017
Scholarship Brief Description:

2017/2018 Australia Scholarship Award ,

which was formally called Australian Development Scholarships (ADS), will be giving out scholarships to interested students in developing countries, particularly those countries located in the Indo-Pacific region, to apply for this full time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions.

Institution Hosting The Scholarship=

Any of the Participating Australian Institutions

Field OR Level of study-

Undergraduate or Postgraduate Programmes that are in line with the subjects allowed in your country.

Training in areas related to flying aircraft, nuclear technology or military training will not be included in the Australia Scholarship Award.

Number of Scholarships:

Not specified.

Target group:
Interested Participants of one of the participating countries in Asia, Pacific, Africa, and the Middle East. See the complete list of participating countries.

Scholarship value/inclusions/duration:
Things To benefit from this 2017/2018 Australia Scholarship Award  include: full tuition fees, return air travel, establishment allowance, contribution to living expenses (CLE), Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), Introductory Academic Program (IAP), Pre-course English (PCE) fees, etc. Make sure you go through the complete list of benefits at the official website.

The 2017/2018 Australia Scholarship Award  are offered for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training.


In order To be qualified for this Scholarship, applicants must:

a. be a minimum of 18 years of age at the time of commencing the Scholarship

b. be a citizen of a participating country (as listed on the Australia Awards website) and be residing in and applying for the scholarship from their country of citizenship

c. not be married, engaged to, or a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency, at any time during the application, selection or mobilisation phases (note: residents of Cook Islands, Niue and Tokelau with New Zealand citizenship are eligible but must apply for a Student visa (subclass 500) and not be current serving military personnel

d. Must not be a citizen of Australia, hold permanent residency in Australia or be applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently

e. Must not be applying for another long‐term Australia Award unless they have resided outside of Australia for twice the length of the total time that they were in Australia

f. MUST have satisfied any specific criteria established by the Program Area or the government of the applicant’s country of citizenship (e.g. having worked a certain number of years in an appropriate sector)

g. MUst be able to satisfy the admission requirements of the institution at which the award is to be undertaken

h. Must be able to satisfy all requirements of the Department of Immigration and Border Protection to hold a Student Visa.

i. Applicants must inform the Program Area of any connection or relationship to staff employed at Program Areas or with managing contractors so that the application may be properly and transparently managed.

Read the complete eligibility criteria in the Australia Awards Policy Handbook (PDF)

Application instructions:

Check the open and close dates for your country, and select your country of citizenship/residency from the list of participating countries for specific information on eligibility, priority areas and how to apply. Deadline varies per country. The deadline for most countries is 30 April 2017 except for Kiribati (March 7), Laos (March 24), Papua New Guinea (February 28). Australia Awards for Africa, Timor-Leste, Samoa, and Vanuatu are already closed. No applications in India for intake 2017 are sought.


Official Scholarship Website:



About the author

Cynthia Morgan

Cynthia Morgan

Cynthia Morgan is the editor and administrator of School Mata, an online-based education magazine, that focuses on reviewing and updating the world with the latest education news/updates.

With our rich team of experienced reviewers and masterful editors, we stand out to be one of the very best in the education niche.


Click here to post a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Get scholarship and education updates in your inbox
Your Information will never be shared with any third party.